June 22, 2010 ~ Fourth Tuesday School Board Meeting

June 22, 2010 – School Board Meeting
6:30 P.M. School Board Meeting Room
21000 Education Court, Ashburn, VA
Presiding: John Stevens, Chairman
State Sen. Mark Herring recognized Peter Fulcer with a General Assembly resolution for his work as a Loudoun County educator and with the Loudoun Education Foundation. Delegates Tom Rust and Tag Greason presented Loudoun County Public Schools (LCPS) Fleet Manager Joshua Lunsford with a General Assembly resolution honoring his father, J. Michael Lunsford. LCPS Personnel Specialist Kristi Hurd introduced the new National Board Certified teachers for the 2009-2010 school year. These teachers include Cyndi Armhein, Heather Coffee, Tricia Furtek, Kristie Galati, Lauren Gould, Kelly Gresh, Linda Gulden, Debra Haas, Beth Konkoski, Jeannie Lambert, Arlene Lewis, Patricia Lockwood, Robert Mandes, Daniel Muscarella, Kristina Myrick, Meghan O'Rourke, Victoria Petrosky, Heidi Pierson, Fatima Scherer, Eric Scott, Elizabeth Stickley, Helen Wadkins, Michelle Wagoner and Kathy Yereb.


The School Board Approved:
Minutes; Student Expulsion; revisions to School Board Policy §7-71, Furlough; Construction Status Report; Deed of Easement Between the Loudoun County School Board, the Board of Supervisors of Loudoun County, Va., and the Town of Hamilton, Va. – Kenneth W. Culbert Elementary; IFB #264, Art Equipment for New Schools and Ongoing Needs; IFB #265, Art Supplies for New Schools and Ongoing Needs; IFB #266, Calculators for New Schools and Ongoing Needs; RFP #08K – R2 Services for Special Education Students, Renewal; RFP #08M, Building Commissioning Services, Renewal; RFP #09H, Integrated Instructional Management System, Renewal; RFP #10P, OEM Automotive and Special Vehicle Parts for the Central Garage; RFP #10R, Professional Design Services; Annual Grant Applications for the 2010-2011 School Year for No Child Left Behind; Authorization of Signature in Absence of the Superintendent; and licensed and classified personnel actions, including the following administrative appointment:

Jennifer Steeprow as principal of Algonkian Elementary, effective July 1, 2010. Ms. Steeprow holds a bachelor's degree in music education from James Madison University and a master's degree in education administration from Shenandoah University. She has served as a music teacher and assistant principal at Sugarland Elementary and as an assistant principal at Meadowland Elementary.

… Revisions to School Board Policy §2-23, Agenda;
… HS-7 Architectural and Engineering Fee Increase.
… RFP #10J, Short-Term Disability/Voluntary Long-Term Disability.
… Revision of School Board Policy §2-25, Board Minutes.
… Settlement Agreement – Town of Purcellville, Va., Loudoun County School Board and the Loudoun County, Va., Board of Supervisors.
… Naming ES-15 Frederick Douglass Elementary in keeping with the school's former name.
… Authorization to acquire land and associated covenants for Frederick Douglass Elementary.

Deputy Superintendent – Deputy Superintendent Ned D. Waterhouse addressed revisions to School Board Policy §2-24, Order of Business, Quorum, Rules, Voting and Policy §2-28, School – Community Communications and Community Involvement.
School Board – School Board Chairman John Stevens discussed a Joint School Board/Board of Supervisors Committee Resolution.

Neil Hansberger spoke in favor of retaining the sick leave bank. Dennis Hammer asked that Loudoun Valley High School underclassmen be allowed special exceptions to remain at Loudoun Valley. Mark Nuzzaco spoke against altering School Board policy to allow students to remain at Loudoun Valley High School.


June 29-

8:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

Middle School Summer School

July 30

Stone Hill Middle School



July 5

FOURTH OF JULY HOLIDAY – All Schools and Administrative Offices Closed


July 6-

8:30 a.m. – Noon

Elementary Summer School

July 30

Arcola, Rosa Lee Carter, Forest Grove, Frances

Hazel Reid, Round Hill and Sugarland elementary


July 20

VSBA Governor's Conference on Education


Richmond Marriott

August 3-5

8:00 a.m.

Administrative Leadership Team


Stone Bridge High School



August 4

6:00 p.m.

Administrative Leadership Team Social


School Administration Building

August 10

3:00 p.m.

Finance & Facilities Committee


School Administration Building

4:00 & 6:30 p.m.

August School Board Meeting

School Administration Building

August 13

10:00 a.m.

High School Summer School


Briar Woods High School

Graduation Ceremony

August 18

8:00 a.m.

Beginning Teacher Institute


Stone Bridge High School

August 20

8:00 a.m.

New Employee Orientation



August 25

All Teachers Return


COMCAST – Public Access Channel 18 telecasts School Board meetings live and at noon on Thursday following the live meetings. The meeting will also be Web cast at www.lcps.org .