Record Number of LCPS Students Earn Capstone Diploma

A record 54 Loudoun County Public Schools (LCPS) students received an Advanced Placement (AP) Capstone Diploma from the College Board in 2023.

An AP Capstone Diploma is based on two year-long AP courses: AP Seminar and AP Research. These courses are designed to complement other AP courses taken by the AP Capstone student. Instead of teaching specific subject knowledge, AP Seminar and AP Research use an interdisciplinary approach to develop the critical thinking, research, collaboration, time management and presentation skills students need for college-level work.

“Congratulations to these 54 amazing graduates on their accomplishments,” stated Dr. Aaron Spence, LCPS Superintendent. “For the fourth straight year more graduates are achieving this level of success than the year before, demonstrating LCPS’ commitment to challenging every student to reach their full potential in the classroom as part of a system that aspires to become the best-performing division in the nation.”

The College Board developed the AP Capstone Diploma program at the request of higher education professionals, who saw a need for a systematic way for high school students to begin mastering these skills before college. 

Students typically take AP Seminar in grade 10 or 11, followed by AP Research. Both courses guide students through completing a research project, writing an academic paper and making a presentation on their project.

In 2022, 43 LCPS students received this designation, while 32 earned a Capstone in 2021 and 23 in 2020. 

LCPS students earning a Capstone Diploma in 2023 included: 

John Champe High School

Yuvraj Chauhan

Parth Mittal

Dominion High School

Morgan M. Bradley 

Isabel J. Bundy

Lacey Kennedy

Miya O. Livingston 

Romi R. Radi

Melani K. Rivera

Freedom High School

Sneha S. Moothedan

Lightridge High School

Ashlynn M. Cherian

Saniya   Chethan 

Victoria E. Pierce 

Madilyn J. Zipper 

Potomac Falls High School

Sophie Grard

Landon L. Linn

Ethan T. McCarney

Daliah G. Minkara

Anush V. Sanchezyan

Charlotte S. Tuma  

Andrew P. Wulff

Riverside High School

Sai Sahvir Bhaskaruni  

Anna C. Bollar

Jennifer L. Bond

Madeleine J. Brown 

Sadie C. Bryant

Hannah O. Chateau

Kathleen Dowdall

Sage V. Duggal

Adam Elbash 

Eesha Ellahi 

Sarah M. Floyd

Jaden A. Frazier 

 Ilana Goldman

Leah M. Hearne

 Zsofia A. Jones

Siddharth Laks 

Junha Lee 

Alexandra L. Linderman

McKenna N. Lynch 

Austin J. McGregor

Austin C. Mitchell

Bita L. Parhami

Olivia M. Parker

Kiernan W. Pham

Adithi Praveenkumar

Jacob M. Quan 

Elizabeth Sanden

Nandita Senthil    

Maya Seoni

Colin M. Smith 

Emma M. Sullivan

Olivia Q. Sun

Declan L. Uwaine  

Jack C. Voci

Published September 28, 2023