Special Education Advisory Council Recognizes Excellence in Supporting Special Education at Awards Ceremony


The Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC) held its annual Recognition of Excellence in Supporting Special Education Awards Ceremony on Tuesday, June 6, at Stone Bridge High School. The awards ceremony recognized 70 educators, students, parents and community members who demonstrated excellence in the Loudoun County Public Schools (LCPS) special education community. These individuals and groups were identified as having gone above and beyond what is expected to be meaningfully inclusive. 


To kick off the event, Daniel Derrico, an aspiring singer/songwriter and supporter of LCPS partner, A Place to Be, shared his personal and educational journey and sang two songs. 


Acting Superintendent Dr. Daniel Smith expressed his pleasure in attending the ceremony and helping honor the award winners. He said that those being recognized are exceptional people doing exceptional work. “You understand that each student has unique characteristics and unique needs. You help ensure that each of our students is served well and served to LCPS standards. You make coming to school special for each of our students. They feel supported. They feel affirmed. They feel valued. We thank you for all you do,” said Smith. 


Assistant Superintendent, Student Services Dr. Asia Jones also commended the award winners. Jones, who is retiring this summer, said she began her career as a special education teacher and knows the joy of working with students with special needs. “You lead with heart. You advocate for your exceptional students every day. You find joy and meaning in helping students achieve their goals. We say thank you for your care and for going above and beyond,” said Jones.


Outgoing SEAC Chair Sharon Tropf introduced the winners. Dr. Smith along with incoming SEAC Chair Elizabeth Crotty, and School Board members Tiffany Polifko, Broad Run District and SEAC Liaison, Erika Ogedegbe, Leesburg District and Alternate SEAC Liaison, and Jeff Morse, Dulles District, congratulated each recipient on their award. The names of all 2023 award winners can be found on the LCPS SEAC webpage. 


Published Tuesday, June 20