School Board Summary September 13, 2022

The Loudoun County School Board held a meeting at 4:00 p.m. on Tuesday, September 13, 2022.

Chair Jeff Morse (Dulles District), Vice Chair Ian Serotkin (Blue Ridge District), Atoosa Reaser (Algonkian District), Harris Mahedavi (Ashburn District), John Beatty (Catoctin District), Tom Marshall (Leesburg District) and Brenda Sheridan (Sterling District) attended the meeting at the Loudoun County Public Schools (LCPS) Administrative Offices, 21000 Education Court, Ashburn. Denise Corbo (At-Large) and Andrew Hoyler (Broad Run District) attended remotely. 

Chief of Staff Dr. Daniel W. Smith, Deputy Superintendent Dr. Ashley Ellis and Supervisor, Research and Evaluation Dave Blaiklock presented the 2027 Strategic Plan for Excellence Metrics for Implementation. Chair Morse and Vice Chair Serotkin provided the School Board with information regarding School Board Operations. It was decided that the School Board will continue virtual comments at board meetings for this school year. It also was noted that newly elected School Board members will be sworn in the November 15 School Board meeting.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by three former LCPS teacher cadets who have returned to teach for the school division this year. Grace Mussmon is a graduate of Loudoun Valley High School who is teaching first grade at Elaine E. Thompson Elementary. Jordan Posey graduated from Freedom High School and is teaching fourth grade at Hovatter Elementary. Tiffany Rutledge graduated from Briar Woods High School and now teaches second grade at Madison’s Trust Elementary.

The National Anthem was performed by 20 members of the Park View High School Band under the direction of Director of Bands Claude D. LeGrand Jr. Members performing included: Johan Cardenas, Emma Macik, Marin Nicholson, Anthony Perez, Ibrahim Ahmad, Lyla Dixon, Elizabeth Zepeda, Julian Vera, Oscar Garcia, Cynthia Mora, Austin Yester, Ace Heck, Alex Perla, JP Claros, Mike Hernandez, Patrick Sealy, Khang Ly, Charlie Gleason, Kevin Guillen-Ruiz and Jonathan Gomez.

Potowmack Elementary Principal Mark Hayden; English Learner Lead Teacher Angela Vela; second grade teacher Sahar Amirifar; English learner teacher Neeven Baslios; and parents Yoselyn Lovo, Mandana Samiei and Banan Malkawi presented an overview of their strategies and approaches to Family Engagement.

The School Board Approved: Minutes; Department of Business and Financial Services: School Board Calendar for the Development of the Fiscal Year 2024 School Board Operating Budget; Discipline Committee: Policy 8240, Alcohol, Drug, Tobacco and Electronic Cigarettes; Department of Instruction: Loudoun County Public Schools (LCPS) Head Start Certification of Health and Safety Screening and Certification of Governance and Leadership Capacity Screening; Department of Student Services: Exemption from School Attendance for Religious Reasons; Department of Support Services: Fall 2022 School Board Meeting Calendar for Fiscal Year 2024 Capital Budgets - November 15, 2022, Meeting Time Change; and Personnel Actions, including the following administrative appointments:

Carey E. Williams was appointed as Loudoun County Public Schools first Ombuds. Ms. Williams holds a bachelor’s degree in athletic training from Wingate University; a master’s degree in physical education from Ohio University; and a post-master’s certificate in educational leadership and administration from George Washington University. She has served as head athletic trainer/health and physical education teacher at C.D. Hylton and Osbourn Park high schools and as lead athletic trainer/health and physical education teacher and assistant athletic director at Freedom High School, all for Prince William County Public Schools; as an adjunct professor at George Mason University; as LEAD administrative intern at Herndon and South County high schools, system of support advisor and assistant principal of Herndon High School, assistant administrator Interagency Alternative School Program and coordinator, Equity and Student Conduct Office, all for Fairfax County Public Schools; and investigator Title IX and Student Equity Office for Prince William County Public Schools.

Peter Cevenini as Director, Enterprise Resource Planning. Mr. Cevenini holds a bachelor’s degree in psychology from the University of Maryland and a master’s degree in education administration from George Washington University. He has served as a graduate school professor at George Washington University; as a principal/director of middle and high school for Charles County, Md., Public Schools; as director education and workforce lead for Cisco Systems; as chief information officer for the Instructional Technology Department of the Maryland State Department of Education; as chief of instructional technology for Charles County, Md., Public Schools; and as associate superintendent for technology and innovation/chief  technology officer for Montgomery County, Md., Public Schools. 

revisions to Policy 8540, Questionnaires and Surveys.
… revised Policy 8220, Student Disciplinary Consequences.
… the list of nominated LEAF members as presented, including the names of alternates.
… a proclamation recognizing September 2022 as Attendance Awareness Month.
… a proclamation recognizing September 2022 as Suicide Prevention Awareness Month.
… sending Policy 5030 to the Curriculum and Instruction Committee for review at the discretion of the committee’s chair.


HRTD Committee: Chief Human Resources Officer Lisa Boland presented the Human Resources and Talent Development Year in Review.

Department of Support Services: Director, Planning Services Beverly Tate presented the Preliminary 2022-2023 Enrollment Report. Mrs. Tate also presented the process for appointing a School Naming Committee for New School – Dulles North Area Middle School (MS-14).

COVID Leave for Nurses: Ms. Reaser wanted to explore the feasibility of accommodations that could be made for LCPS healthcare professionals exposed to COVID. Mrs. Boland explained it would not be recommended to carve out special leave time for one employee group. Chief Financial Officer Sharon Willoughby explained the potential costs associated with such leave.

Minority Student Achievement Advisory Committee (MSAAC): Chair Talia Bush provided a beginning-of-year overview of MSAAC’s areas of focus for the 2022-2023 school year.

Student Services Committee: Chief Technology Officer Aaron Smith presented the revision of Policy 8640, Disclosure of Student Personally Identifiable Information.

Department of Student Services: Assistant Superintendent of Student Services Dr. Asia Jones presented the Restraint and Seclusion of Students Annual Report for School Year 2021-22. Dr. Jones also presented Bullying Prevention Month and Disability History and Awareness Month proclamations.

Superintendent's Office: Superintendent Dr. Scott Ziegler presented the Superintendent's Operational Update.

Daniela Grados, a senior at the Academies of Loudoun, was introduced as the new student School Board member.

Published September 14, 2022