MSAAC Presents Annual Awards


The Minority Student Achievement Advisory Committee (MSAAC) presented its annual awards on Thursday, May 26, at 6 p.m. at Dominion High School. 

Krystal Rascoe, MSAAC Vice Chair, delivered welcoming remarks. Park View High School’s “World View” offered a musical performance.

MSAAC referred to the refreshments as an “Equi-TEA” and served an assortment of international teas and snacks.

MSAAC Founder Wendall T. Fisher presented words of wisdom to the group. Herb Davis of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., recognized 80 academic award recipients. Connie Britt delivered a musical performance. 

Talia Bush, MSAAC Chair, honored this year’s MSAAC Award winners. All of the honorees reflect the theme of “Advancing Equity Through Action.” Honorees are:

  • Omar Hafassa, Meadowland Elementary–MSAAC Student Award, Elementary
  • Angelina Le-Hoang, Seneca Ridge Middle School–MSAAC Student Award, Middle School
  • Claire E. Tate, Lightridge High School–MSAAC Student Award, High School
  • Errin Kunkel, Round Hill Elementary Delegate–MSAAC Equity Award, Delegate
  • Krishawna Goins, Goshen Post Elementary First Grade Teacher and Equity Lead–MSAAC Equity Award, Equity Lead
  • Valeria Austin, Tuscarora High School Social Science and Global Studies Teacher–Wendall T. Fisher Award, Teacher
  • Andrew Davis, Round Hill Elementary Principal–Wendall T. Fisher Award, Principal
  • Nicholas Grzeda, LCPS Computer Science Supervisor–Wendall T. Fisher Award, Administrator

Superintendent Scott Ziegler was joined by School Board Members Brenda Sheridan (Sterling District) and Harris Mahedavi (Ashburn District) in sharing brief remarks.

Bush teamed up with LCPS Equity Director Lottie Spurlock to offer closing remarks.

Published May 31, 2022