School Board Summary May 24, 2022

The Loudoun County School Board held a meeting at 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, May 24, 2022.

Chair Jeff Morse (Dulles District), Vice Chair Ian Serotkin (Blue Ridge District), Atoosa Reaser (Algonkian District), Harris Mahedavi (Ashburn District), Andrew Hoyler (Broad Run District), John Beatty (Catoctin District), Tom Marshall (Leesburg District) and Brenda Sheridan (Sterling District) attended the meeting at the Loudoun County Public Schools (LCPS) Administrative Offices, 21000 Education Court, Ashburn. Denise Corbo (At-Large) attended remotely. 

The full meeting agenda is available on the LCPS website.


The Pledge of Allegiance was led by category winners in the Loudoun Regional Science and Engineering Fair: Sofia Difulvio, Ravin Joshi and Enzo Tiptur.


Members of the Freedom High School Advanced Mixed Chorus performed the National Anthem. The Advanced Mixed Chorus, an auditioned ensemble of 28 members, received straight superior ratings at State Choral Assessment in March. 


Superintendent Dr. Scott Ziegler and the School Board presented former Blue Ridge Middle School librarian Sheila Lightner with a resolution naming the school’s library in her honor for a period of 10 years. Ms. Lightner was Blue Ridge’s librarian for 46 years.  

Dr. Ziegler recognized Mike Saunders, a third-grade teacher at John W. Tolbert Jr. Elementary School for saving the life of a student who was choking.

LCPS Supervisor, Elementary Staffing Nicole Davis recognized the Maintenance Worker, Food Services Worker, Custodian, Bus Attendant, and Bus Driver of the Year. Greg Maddox has been selected as Maintenance Worker of Year.  Maddox is a carpenter on the maintenance team and was nominated by numerous school-based colleagues. Heba Yacoub has been selected as Food Services Worker of the Year.  Yacoub is a school nutrition manager at Dominion High School and not only works in the capacity of a manager, but also as a trainer for other School Nutrition managers. Byong Kong has been selected as Custodian of the Year.  Kong is a custodian at Liberty Elementary School and helped to open the school in August 2008.  Jennifer Bynaker was selected as Bus Attendant of the Year.  In her nomination, the following was shared about Bynaker: She takes “exceptional care of her students on her bus and steps forward to fill in on buses in need of a qualified bus attendant to cover an absence or a vacancy.”  She always demonstrates “professionalism and care while serving on the bus.” Mark Nelms was selected as Bus Driver of the Year.  In his nomination, the following was shared: He “demonstrates excellent communication with his drivers during their AM/PM and mid-day routes, provides mentoring for drivers, collaborates and interacts with all LCPS employees in a positive, effective manner.”


The School Board Approved:

Minutes; Personnel Actions; Finance and Operations Committee: Grant of Easement to Segra at Western Support Center; Finance and Operations Committee: Adoption of Policy 6140, Free and Reduced-Price Meal Services; Finance and Operations Committee: Adoption of Policy 6150, Food Service Management; Finance and Operations Committee: Adoption of Policy 6160, Food Sanitation Program; Finance and Operations Committee: Revision of Policy 4340, Procurement Procedures; Finance and Operations Committee: RFP #R22281 IT Asset Disposal; Finance and Operations Committee: Contract Award – IFB 22-504 Entry Modifications for 12 Elementary Schools; Finance and Operations Committee: Approval of Capital Improvement Program Fund Transfer for MS-14; Finance and Operations: Appropriation of FY22 Mentor Teacher program Federal American Rescue Plan (ARP) Act and Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief (ESSER III) Funding; Department of Instruction: Loudoun County Public Schools (LCPS) Head Start Supplemental Cost-of-Living Adjustment and Quality Improvement Application for FY22; and Department of Student Services: New Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC) Member.

… naming the Blue Ridge Middle School library “The Sheila Lightner Library” for a period of 10 years.

…  Fiscal Year 2022 Appropriated, Unspent Year-End Funds Request.

…  Fiscal Year 2023 Operating Budget Reconciliation and Adoption.

… Nomination of Loudoun Education Alliance of Families (LEAF) Members.

… Loudoun County School Board to request financing for approved CIP projects not to exceed $315,885,000 for school purposes.

… Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology (TJHSST) Contract Extension.

… Request to Name Independence High School Stadium “Prince Movers Field.”

… Revision of Policy 8070, Students - Written Comments and Complaints (Former Policy 8-10).

… Textbook & Primary Instructional Resource Adoption Recommendations.

… A Gun Violence Awareness Proclamation.

… An LGBTQ+ Pride Month Proclamation.

… a half-time reading specialist for Middleburg Community Charter Academy.


Chair Morse detailed the Renewal of 1) Hillsboro Charter Academy (HCA) Support Services and Technology Services Contracts and 2) Renewal of the Middleburg Community Charter School (MCCS) Support Services and Technology Services Contracts

Chair Morse and Deputy Superintendent Dr. Ashley Ellis detailed a Supplemental Staff Request for Middleburg Community Charter School.

Mr. Hoyler introduced a report from Dr. Ellis and Director of Equity Lottie Spurlock detailing Actions to Address Racial Slurs and Hate Speech.

Mrs. Corbo introduced Chief Human Resources Officer Lisa Boland, who outlined revisions to Policy 7310, Staff Discipline.

Mrs. Boland provided details of revisions to Policy 7524, Staff Participation in Political Activities.

Mrs. Boland reviewed the status of Policy 7710, Annual Leave.

Published May 25, 2022