Farmwell Station Middle School’s Green Team Hosts Loudoun County Board of Supervisors


Farmwell Station Middle School’s Green Team hosted Loudoun County Board of Supervisors Chair Phyllis J. Randall and Supervisor Sylvia R. Glass (Broad Run District), along with Loudoun County Public School (LCPS) Superintendent Scott Ziegler on Thursday, May 5, to discuss what steps Loudoun County is taking to reduce its carbon footprint.


Speaking with students “is the most important thing I can do for my job,” said Randall. “I am here to make things happen, and kids have the most powerful voice.


“Spending time with the next generation and hearing their concerns, issues, and ideas is so important to me. Every elected official should seek to pass on a safer, healthier world to the leaders of tomorrow.”


Students asked the supervisors a variety of questions about Loudoun County’s energy conservation and efficiency programs, including its recycling program, wildlife habitats, reclaimed/recycled water systems and clean energy use.


Ziegler noted in his remarks that the meeting coincided with LCPS’ announcement that it had received the ENERGY STAR Partner of the Year - Sustained Excellence Award for the 11th year in a row from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and the U.S. Department of Energy.


Farmwell Station Middle School’s Green Team is a club for students to study nature, energy consumption and interact with our local ecosystem firsthand. The Green Team most recently bagged 36 pounds of garbage around the school and W&OD Trail. They’ve also designed reusable cloth shopping bags to be sold by the club.


The Green Team meets every other week on Wednesdays from 3:30 to 4:30 p.m., and is sponsored by Farmwell Station Middle School teachers Jonathan Radow, Manasi Rao and Dian Beatty. Additional information about the Green Team can be found on Farmwell Station Middle School’s website.


Published May 9, 2022