School Board Summary April 26, 2022

The Loudoun County School Board held a meeting at 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, April 26, 2022.


Vice Chair Ian Serotkin (Blue Ridge District), Atoosa Reaser (Algonkian District), John Beatty (Catoctin District), Tom Marshall (Leesburg District) and Brenda Sheridan (Sterling District) attended the meeting at the Loudoun County Public Schools (LCPS) Administrative Offices, 21000 Education Court, Ashburn. Andrew Hoyler (Broad Run District) attended remotely. 

The full meeting agenda is available on the LCPS website.


2021 Principal of the Year Shontel Simon led the Pledge of Allegiance.


The Stone Bridge Guitar Quartet, plus one, performed the National Anthem. Performing were Riley Ahart, Kenny Yoon, Gia Bambini, Marah Burnes and Ibrahem Alhafiz. The students were directed by guitar teacher Erin Stavropulos.


Executive Director Division of Teaching and Learning Neil Slevin introduced three Loudoun School-Business Partnership Executive Council Partnership Award recipients that were nominated to the Virginia School Boards Association (VSBA) Business Honor Roll at the March 2022 meeting of the School Business Partnership Executive Council. These businesses are Maverick Bikes, Heritage Hall Healthcare and Rehabilitation Centers and Lansdowne Resort.

Supervisor of Mentoring and Coaching Julie Baye introduced Caroline Brunetti, a fourth-grade teacher at Cedar Lane Elementary School, as the 2021-2022 Elementary New Teacher of the Year and Elizabeth Coyle, a special education teacher at River Bend Middle School, as the 2021-2022 Secondary New Teacher of the Year.

Baye also introduced Jordan Markwood, the Fine Arts Department chair and choral director at Rock Ridge High School, as Loudoun County's Teacher of the Year. Markwood also has been selected as the overall winner of the Washington Post Teacher of the Year Award for the Washington Metropolitan Area.

Recruitment Supervisor Laura Collins introduced Robert Marple, principal of Cedar Lane Elementary School, as Loudoun County's Principal of the Year and the LCPS nominee for the Washington Post Principal of the Year Award.



The School Board Approved:

Minutes; Department of Student Services: 2022-2023 Annual Plan for Special Education and Application for Federal Funds; Finance and Operations Committee: Adoption of New Policy 6620, Access Control; Department of Instruction: Approval of the Loudoun County Public Schools (LCPS) School Business Partnership (SBP) Executive Council Membership for the 2022-2023 School Year; and personnel actions, including the following administrative appointment:

Brendan Quigley, as Principal of Creighton’s Corner Elementary School, effective July 1, 2022. Mr. Quigley holds a bachelor’s degree in Childhood Education PreK-6 from the State University of New York/Cortland and a master’s degree in Educational Leadership from George Mason University. He has served as a fourth-grade and second-grade teacher at Guilford Elementary; as a fifth-grade teacher at Countryside Elementary; as assistant principal at Seldens Landing Elementary; and as assistant principal at Meadowland Elementary.

… adopting The Historic Douglass High School Education and Development Campus as the name for the former Douglass High School site and instructing that lettering reading Douglass High School 1941-1968 be placed in the apex of the renovated former school building.

revisions to Policy 6610, Contingency Planning.

appropriating $1,725,000 of the Recruitment Incentive for Public Education (RIPE) Funding from federal ESSER III state set aside funding to support the recruitment efforts of school division’s hiring to fill instructional positions between August 15, 2021, and November 15, 2021, to the Loudoun County Public Schools Grant Fund.

…a proclamation designating the entire month of May as Educator Appreciation Month.

… a proclamation recognizing May 2022 as Mental Health Awareness Month.

… a proclamation recognizing May 2022 as Jewish American Heritage Month.

… a proclamation recognizing May 2022 as Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month.


Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC) President Sharon Tropf presented the SEAC Quarterly Update.

Department of Business and Financial Services: Chief Financial Officer Sharon Willoughby detailed the FY22 Third Quarter Financial Review and Appropriated, Unspent Year-End Funds Request. Mrs. Willoughby also presented a COVID Funds Update. In addition, Mrs. Willoughby outlined the FY23 Budget Reconciliation Framework.

Department of Instruction: Deputy Superintendent Dr. Ashley Ellis detailed the Textbook & Primary Instructional Resource Adoption Recommendations. Dr. Ellis also outlined the possible relocation of W. O. Robey High School to Dominion High School for the 2022-23 school year.

Published April 27, 2022