School Board Summary September 28


The Loudoun County School Board held a meeting at 5 p.m. on Tuesday, September 28, 2021.


School Board Chair Brenda L. Sheridan (Sterling District), Vice Chair Atoosa Reaser (Algonkian District), Harris Mahedavi (Ashburn District), Ian Serotkin (Blue Ridge District), John Beatty (Catoctin District), Jeff Morse (Dulles District) and Beth Barts (Leesburg District) attended the meeting in-person at the Loudoun County Public Schools (LCPS) Administrative Offices, 21000 Education Court, Ashburn. At-Large member Denise Corbo attended the meeting virtually. 


The full agenda for this School Board meeting can be found on the LCPS website. The video replay of the meeting, indexed to specific agenda items, also is available on that webpage.


The School Board approved seven action items during this meeting: an Indigenous Peoples' Day Proclamation; a proclamation recognizing October 2021 as Disability History and Awareness Month; a proclamation recognizing October 11-15, 2021, as National School Lunch Week; a proclamation recognizing October 2021 as Bullying Prevention Month; a proclamation recognizing October 18-22, 2021 as School Bus Safety Awareness Week; Revision of Policy 2510, School - Community Communications and Community Involvement; and Adoption of Policy 5350, Parental Notification for Screening and Assessments. 


The School Board heard five information items:

  • Chief Operations Officer for Support Services Kevin Lewis and Charles Avery and Erica Bush, co-chairs of the Douglass Commemorative Committee, gave an update on the Douglass High School Renovation Project and outlined the requests for the usage of the renovated building.
  • Assistant Superintendent for Student Services Dr. Asia Jones presented the Restraint and Seclusion of Students Annual Report for School Year 2020-21.
  • Chief of Staff Dr. Mark Smith presented the Amendment to Work Plan (Study and Reconciliation for the Operation of Segregated Schools in Loudoun County).
  • Chief Financial Officer Sharon Willoughby presented the Revision of Policy 7626, Health Insurance.
  • School Board member Ian Serotkin (Blue Ridge District) asked for statistics concerning the LCPS school bus driver shortage.


Elaine Layman was named Director of Elementary Education and Charter Schools.


Makayla Morina, a senior at The North Star School; Peter Pollatos, a senior from Broad Run High School; and Katie Sullivant, a senior at Riverside High School, were introduced as the student School Board members for the September 28 and October 12 meetings.


Jackson Porter and Stella Scott, fifth-graders at Lincoln Elementary, led the Pledge of Allegiance.


Allyson Bell, a senior at Loudoun Valley High School, sang the National Anthem.


Published September 29, 2021