School Board Summary August 10


The Loudoun County School Board held a meeting at 4 p.m. on Tuesday, August 10, 2021.


School Board Chair Brenda L. Sheridan (Sterling District), Vice Chair Atoosa Reaser (Algonkian District), Harris Mahedavi (Ashburn District), Ian Serotkin (Blue Ridge District), John Beatty (Catoctin District) and Jeff Morse (Dulles District) attended the meeting in-person at the Loudoun County Public Schools (LCPS) Administrative Offices, 21000 Education Court, Ashburn. At-Large member Denise Corbo, Leslee King (Broad Run District) and Beth Barts (Leesburg District) attended the meeting virtually.


The School Board recessed its meeting at 8:26 p.m. on August 10 after hearing 119 speakers during virtual and in-person public sessions. The meeting resumed at 5:30 p.m. on Wednesday, August 11. The same six board members were in attendance at the Administrative Offices with the three remaining members attending virtually.


The full agenda for this School Board meeting can be found on the LCPS website. The video replay of the meeting, indexed to specific agenda items, also is available on that webpage.


The School Board approved four action items during this meeting: a proclamation recognizing September 2021 as Attendance Awareness Month; a proclamation recognizing September 2021 as Suicide Prevention Awareness Month; assigning LCPS Planning Zones DS08 and DS08.4 to the Mercer Middle School/John Champe High School attendance zone; and the adoption of Policy 8040, Rights of Transgender and Gender-Expansive Students.


The School Board heard 10 information items:


  • Superintendent Dr. Scott Ziegler, Deputy Superintendent Dr. Ashley Ellis and Chief Operations Officer Kevin Lewis presented the Superintendent’s Operational Update.
  • Dr. Ziegler, Chief of Staff Dr. Mark Smith and Assistant Superintendent for Student Services Dr. Asia Jones presented information on the Superintendent's Task Force for Student Mental Health.
  • At-Large School Board member Denise Corbo, Interim Chief Human Resources Officer Lisa Boland and outside counsel John Cafferky presented Policy 7560, Professional Conduct.
  • Ms. Corbo and Ms. Boland presented Policy 7020, Employment or Supervision of Family Members.
  • School Board members Jeff Morse (Dulles District) and Ian Serotkin (Blue Ridge District) and Director of School Administration Dr. Doug Fulton outlined Revised Policy 8270, Student Dress Code.
  • Mr. Serotkin presented Revised Policy 5030, Assessment and Grading.
  • Chief Financial Officer Sharon Willoughby presented the FY23 Preliminary Fiscal Outlook.
  • Mrs. Willoughby also presented the School Board Calendar for the Development of the Fiscal Year 2023 School Board Operating Budget.
  • School Board member Leslee King (Broad Run District) and Mr. Lewis reviewed the Town of Leesburg Proffer Funds.
  • Mr. Morse presented the Charter School Per-Pupil Funding.


It was announced that Robert M. Falconi will be division counsel.


Carris Morris of Potomac Falls High School and Jamie Kaine of Heritage High School were welcomed as the student School Board members.


Published 8/12/21