School Board Agenda for Reconvened Meeting of December 15


The Loudoun County School Board will reconvene its December 15 meeting at 6:30 p.m. Thursday, December 17. (The meeting was recessed at 11 p.m. December 15.) All School Board members and staff representatives will participate electronically from remote locations to comply with Governor Ralph Northam’s Statewide Measures for Containing COVID-19, which limits in-person gatherings to 25 people.


Public comment was heard when this meeting began on December 15; no additional public input will be received at tonight’s session.


The full meeting agenda is available on the LCPS website. This meeting will be live-streamed on and televised on Comcast channel 18 and Verizon FIOS channel 43.


Tonight’s agenda contains nine information items. The information items include:

  • Collective Bargaining Update
  • Proposed
  • Policy 1040 Revision Based on Equity Committee Recommendation
  • No Name-Calling Proclamation
  • Health Care Update for Fiscal Year 2022
  • Fiscal Year 2022 Budget Development
  • Fiscal Year 2020 Comprehensive Annual Financial Report (CAFR)
  • Stipends and Additional Leave Information per School Board Request
  • Policy 6310, Facility Use, Review
  • Western Loudoun Aquatic Center 

Before recessing on Tuesday, the School Board passed three action items during the meeting: the Fiscal Year 2022-Fiscal Year 2027 Capital Improvement Program and Capital Asset preservation Program Budgets; a motion to de-appropriate and return $7.5 million of County CARES Act funds to Loudoun County should the CARES Act expenditure deadline not be extended beyond December 30, 2020; and the Dulles Area Elementary School Attendance Zones, including the establishment of an attendance zone for Hovatter Elementary School.


The School Board announced the unanimous selection of Dr. Scott A. Ziegler as the Interim Superintendent for Loudoun County Public Schools, effective January 1, 2021.


The School Board heard three information items:

  • Assistant Superintendent for Pupil Services Dr. Asia Jones, Assistant Superintendent for Instruction Dr. Ashley Ellis and Assistant Superintendent for Human Resources and Talent Development Dr. Scott Ziegler outlined the Implementation of Hybrid Model in Stages.
  • School Board member Jeff Morse (Dulles District) described a policy regarding Student Cameras in Google Meets, then withdrew it.
  • Dr. Jones and Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC) Chair Sharon Tropf presented the 2019-2020 Special Education Advisory Committee Annual Report.

Lori Mercer was named the first principal of Hovatter Elementary School, effective January 21, 2021.


The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Katherine Caling, an eighth-grade student at Blue Ridge Middle School.





Published December 17, 2020