School Board Summary February 25th


The Loudoun County School Board adopted two action items, heard six information items and appointed a new director of transportation at its Tuesday, February 25, 2020, meeting.


The full agenda and supporting documents for this School Board meeting can be found at on the Loudoun County Public Schools website,


In action items, the School Board approved Policy 5095, Participation in Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology (TJHSST) and Policy 8280, Corporal Punishment Prohibited.


The School Board approved the appointment of Kenneth S. Davies as director, transportation, effective March 2, 2020. Davies holds a bachelor’s degree in business from the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy and a master’s degree from the National Securities Strategic College of the Naval War College. He is a Naval reservist who has worked as a program manager, operations development manager and director for the Maritime Administration in Washington, D.C.; and, most recently, as interim chief of staff/executive officer at the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy.  


The information items presented to the School Board included:

  • A recommendation to endorse the concept of electronic distribution of flyers.
  • Policy 3070, Safety- and Emergency-Related Communications.
  • An energy-saving performance contract update for J. Lupton Simpson Middle School.
  • Three options for theFiscal Year 2021 Teacher Salary Scale.
  • English language arts textbook/resource adoption recommendations.
  • Recommendations from the Equity Committee.

Jonathan Lim, Juridia Campos Saravia, Gabriella Grijalva Hernandez and Allyson Rivera Martinez, students at Sterling Elementary School, led the meeting in reciting the Pledge of Allegiance.   


School Board Chair Brenda Sheridan presented Clerk of the School Board Christine Coleman and Deputy Clerk Shari Byrne certificates in honor of School Board Clerk Appreciation Week.