School Board Honors Sheriff’s Office

The Loudoun County School Board unanimously passed a resolution honoring the Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office and its School Resource Officer (SRO) program at its Tuesday, September 25th, meeting.

The Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office was recognized by the National Association of School Resource Officers (NASRO) for its training, policies and standards, which exemplify the NASRO’s “triad concept” of the ideal SRO; acting as role models and mentors for students while keeping the school environment safe. 

The Loudoun SRO program received the prestigious Model Agency Award. This award was given to only nine departments in the entire country. 

Sheriff Mike Chapman, Maj. Rudy Landon, Second Lt. Easton McDonald, Sgt. Milton Castelle and Sgt. Jose Giron were on hand for the School Board honor.

The Loudoun County School Resource Officer program began in 1996 with one deputy serving three high schools. Today 15 high schools, 17 middle and intermediate schools and two educational centers are served by a school resource officer.