Return to Headlines

Morse Elected School Board Chair


Jeff Morse was elected chair of the Loudoun County School Board on Tuesday, January 4, during the board’s Annual Organizational Meeting at the Loudoun County Public Schools Administrative Offices in Ashburn.


Morse (Dulles District) previously served as the School Board’s chair from 2017 through 2019. He succeeds Brenda Sheridan (Sterling District), who served as chair for the past two years. Morse is in his third term as the Dulles District representative on the School Board.


Morse was nominated for the chair’s position by Tom Marshall and elected by a 5-0-4 vote with Morse, Marshall, Denise Corbo (At-Large), Andrew Hoyler (Broad Run District), and John Beatty (Catoctin District) voting in favor of the nomination. Sheridan, Atoosa Reaser (Algonkian District), Harris Mahedavi (Ashburn District) and Ian Serotkin (Blue Ridge District) abstained.


The only other name placed into nomination – by Sheridan – was Serotkin’s. A motion to elect him chair was defeated 4-1-4 with Sheridan, Reaser, Mahedavi and Serotkin voting yes, Corbo voting no and Hoyler, Beatty, Morse and Marshall abstaining.


Serotkin was elected vice chair on a 7-1-1 vote after being nominated by Hoyler. Corbo voted no with Mahedavi abstaining.


In addition, Reaser was elected as delegate to the Virginia School Boards Association (VSBA) and Serotkin was elected as the alternate.


The board set the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month as its regular meeting dates. There will be no School Board meetings in July and no fourth Tuesday School Board meeting in August and November. The second Tuesday meeting for November has been moved to November 15 because of Election Day. The second Tuesday meeting for December will be held on November 29 and the fourth Tuesday meeting on December 13 because of Winter Break.  


Second Tuesday meetings will begin at 4 p.m. Fourth Tuesday meetings will begin at 5 p.m. Morse has the discretion to reschedule the date and/or time of any School Board meeting.


In other School Board actions, Shari Byrne was appointed as Clerk of the School Board with Michelle Walker as Deputy Clerk.


Reaser, Mahedavi, Hoyler, Beatty, Morse, Marshall and Sheridan attended the meeting in the School Board Meeting Room. Corbo and Serotkin attended the meeting remotely.


Published January 4, 2022