Return to Headlines

School Board Summary November 30


The Loudoun County School Board held a meeting at 4 p.m. on Tuesday, November 30, 2021.

School Board Chair Brenda L. Sheridan (Sterling District), Vice Chair Atoosa Reaser (Algonkian District), Harris Mahedavi (Ashburn District), Ian Serotkin (Blue Ridge District), Andrew Hoyler (Broad Run District) and Jeff Morse (Dulles District) attended the meeting in-person at the Loudoun County Public Schools (LCPS) Administrative Offices, 21000 Education Court, Ashburn. Denise Corbo (At-Large) and John Beatty (Catoctin District) participated in the meeting remotely.

Find the full agenda for this School Board meeting can be found on the LCPS website. The video replay of the meeting, indexed to specific agenda items, also is available on that webpage.

The School Board approved five action items during this meeting: the Revision of Policy 8420, Student Medication; the appointment and nomination process for members of the Equity Committee for 2022; the Revision of Policy 2520, Participation by the Public; the Revision of Policy 2140, Orientation and Professional Development for Board Members; and collaborating with the Black History Committee, Friends of Thomas Balch Library, for the review of Loudoun County Public Schools facility names and narratives prepared by History Matters, LLC.


The School Board heard four information items:

  • Director of Equity Lottie Spurlock described the No Name-Calling Week Proclamation.
  • Deputy Superintendent Dr. Ashley Ellis described the Principals Appreciation Week Proclamation.
  • Chief Operating Officer Kevin Lewis presented the Dulles Area Elementary School Attendance Zones, including the establishment of an Attendance Zone for Elaine E. Thompson Elementary School.
  • Chair Sheridan and Mrs. Spurlock discussed the adoption of Policy 1045, Commitment to Equity.
  • Chief Human Resources Officer Lisa Boland presented calendar options for the 2022-2023 school year.


Rhonda Lopez was appointed as principal of Forest Grove Elementary.

Reese Brown, a senior at Independence High School, and Kenly Howerter, a senior at Loudoun County High School, were introduced as the student School Board members.

Student leaders from LCPS’ newest school, Hovatter Elementary, led the Pledge of Allegiance. The student leaders included Reagan FearsonVictoria SesaiEmili Sadowski and Shriya Patel.

The Harmony Middle School 8th Grade Chorus, under the direction of Lisa Washington, sang the National Anthem.




Published December 1, 2021