Return to Headlines

School Board Summary October 26


The Loudoun County School Board held a meeting at 4 p.m. on Tuesday, October 26, 2021.


School Board Chair Brenda L. Sheridan (Sterling District), Vice Chair Atoosa Reaser (Algonkian District), Harris Mahedavi (Ashburn District), Ian Serotkin (Blue Ridge District), Andrew Hoyler (Broad Run District) and John Beatty (Catoctin District) attended the meeting in-person at the Loudoun County Public Schools (LCPS) Administrative Offices, 21000 Education Court, Ashburn. At-Large member Denise Corbo attended the meeting virtually. 


The full agenda for this School Board meeting can be found on the LCPS website. The video replay of the meeting, indexed to specific agenda items, also is available on that webpage.


The School Board approved five action items during this meeting: Douglass High School Renovation Project and Building Use Requests; the School Board’s 2022 Legislative Program; Revision of Policy 2150, Compensation; Loudoun County Fiscal Impact Committee representation from Loudoun County Public Schools; and a Contract Agreement Between Loudoun County Public Schools (LCPS) and Thomas Jefferson High School for Science & Technology for School Year 2022-2023.


Shontel Simon was appointed as Executive Principal, Elementary Education.


Nicole Davis was appointed Director, Human Resources and Talent Development. 


The School Board heard eight information items:

  • Assistant Superintendent for Student Services Dr. Asia Jones gave an overview of the School Psychologists' Week and Proclamation.
  • Deputy Superintendent Dr. Ashley Ellis presented the Family and Community Engagement Month Proclamation.
  • Chief Financial Officer Sharon Willoughby outlined the revision of Policy 4170, Insurance Management.
  • Ms. Willoughby also outlined the revision of Policy 4310, Purchasing Authority.
  • Dr. Jones gave an overview of the adoption of Policy 8140, Student Attendance Requirements and Procedures (Former Policy 8-17).
  • Chief of Staff Dr. Mark Smith presented the VSBA Legislative Positions.
  • Chief Human Resources Officer Lisa Boland and Superintendent Dr. Scott Ziegler presented Substitute Incentives.
  • Chief Operations Officer Kevin Lewis presented the Pickle Ball Implementation Plan.

Sanjay Jacob, a senior at Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, was introduced as the student School Board member.

Arjun Patel, a third-grader, and fifth-grader Bella Zubroski, of Tolbert Elementary School, led the Pledge of Allegiance.

The National Anthem was performed by an octet from the Rock Ridge Chamber Choir under the direction of Jordan Markwood. Members of this group were selected for District, State, Regional and National Honor Choirs. 





Published October 27, 2021