Return to Headlines

School Board Summary June 8


The Loudoun County School Board returned to in-person meetings on Tuesday, June 8, 2021.

The full agenda for this School Board meeting can be found on the LCPS website. The video replay of the meeting, indexed to specific agenda items, also is available on that webpage.

The School Board approved seven action items during this meeting: the naming of Dr. Scott Ziegler as division superintendent; naming the new high school, opening with the start of the 2021-2022 academic year, William Obediah Robey High School; revised Policy 8155, School Assignment; the implementation of House Bill 1909 - Gun-Free School Board Property; authorizing the expenditure and transfer of appropriated, unspent funds in the amount of $1.5 million for water bottle filling stations; awarding a $2,000 bonus to the 320 LCPS vaccination POD staff (administrators, nurses and support staff) for a cost of $737,280, a $2,000 bonus to the 342 school-based administrative staff (principals, assistant principals, deans, counseling directors, academies coordinator and academies directors) for a cost of $787,968 and a $1,000 per month prorated bonus for the nine Cabinet members for a cost of $105,600; and Milestone Towers’ proposed Mickie Gordon Park cellular tower.

The School Board heard 11 information items:

  • Dr. Ziegler and Assistant Superintendent for Instruction Dr. Ashley Ellis presented the Superintendent's Operational Update.
  • Dr. Ellis presented an update on the Academies of Loudoun outreach, recruitment and admissions.
  • Dr. Ziegler outlined reaffirming the School Board Resolution Regarding Equity.
  • School Board Vice Chair Atoosa Reaser (Algonkian District) and Division Counsel Stephen F. DeVita discussed the revision of Policy 2440, Order of Business, Quorum, Rules, Voting.
  • School Board member Denise Corbo (At-Large) detailed Policy 7040, School Calendar.
  • Dr. Ellis presented the Loudoun County Public Schools (LCPS) 2020-2021 Head Start Annual Training and Report and PY29 Grant Application and Budget for Funding Period December 1, 2021, to November 30, 2022.
  • Dr. Ellis outlined the Annual Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) Grant, as Amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act of 2015 (ESSA) P.L. 114-95.
  • School Board member Leslee King (Broad Run District) and Assistant Superintendent for Business and Financial Services Sharon Willoughby presented the revision of Policy 4120, Management of Funds.
  • Assistant Superintendent for Support Services Kevin Lewis outlined the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) Clean School Bus Grant Program.
  • Mr. Lewis presented the Fall 2021 School Board Meeting Calendar for an Elementary School Attendance Zone Change Process and Fiscal Year 2023 Capital Budgets.
  • Mr. Lewis explained the Abbreviated Secondary School Attendance Zone Change Process.

Colleen M. O’Neill was named principal of Sterling Middle School, effective July 1, 2021.

Paula R. Williams was named principal of Moorefield Station Elementary, effective July 1, 2021.

Smart’s Mill Bay Challenge, a group of sixth-graders from Smart’s Mill Middle School who won the Virginia eCybermission Challenge, led the Pledge of Allegiance. The winning team is composed of Kaia RobertsKatherine Anderson and Addison Bouer-Myers. They were coached by their SPECTRUM teacher, Susan Schar.





Published June 9, 2021