Return to Headlines

School Board Summary January 12


School Board members, Loudoun County Public Schools (LCPS) Interim Superintendent Dr. Scott Ziegler and members of the Superintendent’s Cabinet participated in a hybrid School Board meeting on Tuesday, January 12, 2021.


This meeting was recessed at 10:40 p.m. and will resume after a virtual Budget Work Session at 6:30 p.m. Thursday, January 14. The School Board is scheduled to consider the five action items and one information item remaining on the agenda. There will be no public comment during Thursday’s reconvened meeting.  


School Board Chair Brenda Sheridan (Sterling District), Harris Mahedavi (Ashburn District), Ian Serotkin (Blue Ridge District), Leslee King (Broad Run District), Jeff Morse (Dulles District) and Beth Barts (Leesburg District) participated in-person at the LCPS Administrative Offices in Ashburn. Vice Chair Atoosa Reaser (Algonkian District), Denise Corbo (At-Large) and John Beatty (Catoctin District) participated virtually from home.


The full agenda for this School Board meeting can be found on the LCPS website. The video replay of the meeting, indexed to specific agenda items, also is available on that webpage.

The School Board passed two action items during this meeting, including adopting a third metric for use in evaluating conditions in schools when considering whether hybrid in-person learning can occur for those students whose families have selected it, and appropriating $30 million from the Loudoun County Reserve Release to the Non-Departmental Department in the School Operating Fund.


Neelum Chaudhry was appointed principal of Freedom High School, effective January 12, 2021.


Eleni Molina, a senior at Dominion High School, and Neeharika Yallayi, a senior at Freedom High School, were introduced as the January student School Board members. 


Ryan Alama junior at Potomac Falls High School, led the Pledge of Allegiance.





Published January 13, 2021