Return to Headlines

School Board Summary October 27


School Board members, Loudoun County Public Schools (LCPS) Superintendent Dr. Eric Williams and members of the Superintendent’s Cabinet participated in a hybrid School Board meeting on Tuesday, October 27, 2020.


School Board Chair Brenda Sheridan (Sterling District), Ian Serotkin (Blue Ridge District), Leslee King (Broad Run District), John Beatty (Catoctin District) and Jeff Morse (Dulles District) participated in-person at the LCPS Administrative Offices in Ashburn. Vice Chair Atoosa Reaser (Algonkian District), Denise Corbo (At-Large), Harris Mahedavi (Ashburn District) and Beth Barts (Leesburg District) participated virtually from home.


The meeting was recessed at 11:34 p.m. Tuesday and will resume at 7:30 p.m. on Wednesday, November 4. The board held a closed session immediately following the recess of the regular board meeting.


The full agenda for this School Board meeting can be found on the LCPS website. The video replay of the meeting, indexed to specific agenda items, also is available on that webpage.


The School Board passed three action items during this meeting: a proclamation recognizing November 9-13, 2020, as School Psychologists’ Week; a request to name the Riverside High School Stadium “Fitz Alexander Campbell Thomas Memorial Stadium” and the Football Field “FACT Field”; and the removal of Class Rank and transition to the Latin Honor System beginning with the Class of 2025.


The School Board heard one information item:

  • Superintendent Dr. Eric Williams, Assistant Superintendent for Support Services Kevin Lewis, Assistant Superintendent for Pupil Services Dr. Asia Jones, Assistant Superintendent for Instruction Dr. Ashley Ellis, Eagle Ridge Middle School Principal Scott Phillips, Freedom High School Principal Dr. Douglas Fulton, Assistant Superintendent for Digital Innovation Vince Scheivert, Director of Infrastructure and Engineering Aaron Smith, Assistant Superintendent for Human Resources and Talent Development Dr. Scott Ziegler and Director of Communications & Community Development Rob Doolittle presented an update on the Implementation of Hybrid model in Stages.

Kolbee Wisniewski, a senior at Woodgrove High School, and Jaelynn Carter, a senior at Potomac Falls High School, were introduced as the Student School Board members for October 27 and November 10, 2020.


Shaelynn Wheeler, an eighth-grader at Harmony Middle School, led the Pledge of Allegiance.





Published October 28, 2020