Return to Headlines

Loudoun County School Board Takes Office

The seventh elected Loudoun County School Board was sworn into office on Monday, January 6, at the Loudoun County Public School Administration Building in Ashburn. The members sworn in were Denise Corbo, At-Large; Atoosa Reaser, Algonkian District; Harris Mahedavi, Ashburn District; Ian Serotkin, Blue Ridge District; Leslee King, Broad Run District; John Beatty, Catoctin District; Jeff Morse, Dulles District; Beth Barts, Leesburg District; and Brenda Sheridan, Sterling District.


Following the oath of office, the new board unanimously elected Brenda Sheridan to serve as chair. Sheridan was nominated by former Chair Jeff Morse (Dulles District).


The new board also unanimously elected Atoosa Reaser to serve as vice chair. Reaser was nominated for this position by Ian Serotkin (Blue Ridge District).


In addition, Vice Chair Reaser was elected as delegate to the Virginia School Boards Association (VSBA), and Chair Sheridan was elected as the alternate.


Committee assignments for the 2020 school board year were made subsequent to the meeting. Assignments are as follows:


Ad Hoc Committee on Equity: Chair Sheridan, members Beatty and King.

Charter School Committee: Chair Morse, members Barts and Serotkin.

Communications and Outreach Committee: Chair Barts, members Corbo and Mahedavi.

Curriculum and Instruction Committee: Chair Mahedavi, members Beatty and Corbo.

Discipline Committee: Chair Beatty, members Reaser and Sheridan.

Finance and Facilities Committee: Chair King, members Morse and Serotkin.

Human Resources and Talent Development Committee: Chair Morse, members Barts and Mahedavi.

Joint Committee with Board of Supervisors: Chair Corbo, members King and Reaser.

Legislative and Policy Committee: Chair Reaser, members Corbo and Sheridan.

Student Support and Services Committee: Chair Serotkin, members Barts and King.


The board set the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month as its regular meeting dates. There will be no School Board meetings in July and no fourth Tuesday School Board meeting in August and November. There will be two December meetings – on December 1st and 15th – to accommodate Thanksgiving and Winter Break. Second Tuesday meetings will begin at 4 p.m. with a dinner break and a resumption of the meeting at 6:30. Fourth Tuesday meetings will begin at 6:30 p.m.


Loudoun County Clerk of the Circuit Court Gary Clemens administered the oath of office to each member, whose terms end on December 31, 2023:


Brenda Sheridan, Chair, Sterling District

Brenda Sheridan was appointed to the school board in 2011 and has been re-elected to the Sterling seat three times. Sheridan was born and raised in upstate New York and earned a bachelor of science degree in criminal justice from Rochester Institute of Technology. She was an LCPS substitute teacher from 2004 to 2011 and was the Forest Grove Elementary 2006-2007 Substitute of the Year. Sheridan works for Perspecta as a security analyst. She has lived in Sterling for 21 years with her husband, Keith, and has two children who attended Forest Grove Elementary, Sterling Middle School and Park View High School.


Atoosa Reaser, Vice Chair, Algonkian District

Atoosa Reaser, a Loudoun resident for nearly 20 years, has served as an executive board member for the LCPS Minority Student Achievement Advisory Committee, as a classroom volunteer, PTA leader and substitute teacher. As a member of the Virginia State Bar, she practices law part-time. Combining her interest in youth, government and law, Reaser has been qualified by the Virginia Supreme Court as a guardian ad litem (an attorney who represents the best interest of children) and was unanimously appointed by the Loudoun County Board of Supervisors to a team that administers services for at-risk youth. Reaser lives in the Algonkian District with her husband and son.


Denise Corbo, At-Large

Corbo is an award-winning educator and national nonprofit leader focusing on children’s literacy. As a former LCPS gifted and talented teacher, she began her career teaching high school vocational education. After receiving an undergraduate degree in business psychology and a master’s degree in education from Marymount University, she taught kindergarten and first grade and served as a technology resource teacher. Corbo holds a National Board Teacher Certification in addition to a gifted and talented and provisional administration endorsement through the University of Virginia.


Harris Mahedavi, Ashburn District

Mahedavi, his wife, Dr. Sadia Mahedavi, and their two children have lived in Loudoun County for the past eight years. Both their children attend LCPS schools. Mahedavi has a computer science degree from Drexel University. He has been a small-business owner for the past 10 years. Prior to starting his business, Mahedavi worked with the Big 4 consulting companies. He has served as a boys and girls soccer coach with Loudoun Soccer, as a cub master for the local Cub Scouts, as an assistant scout master for the Boy Scouts and as a Loudoun County Family Services Advisory Board member.


Ian Serotkin, Blue Ridge District

Serotkin grew up in New York and earned a bachelor of science degree in computer science from the University of Illinois and a master of science degree in information systems and technology from Johns Hopkins University. He has lived in the Metropolitan Washington area for the past 17 years with stops in Gaithersburg, Md., Woodbridge and, for the past six years, Aldie and Purcellville. For the past nine years, Serotkin has worked for PDRI, a private government contractor based in Chantilly.


Leslee King, Broad Run District

Raised in Portsmouth, Front Royal, Richmond and the Metropolitan Washington area, King is the third child of seven who learned a strong work ethic from her loving parents. She taught sixth, seventh and eighth grades before moving west to support her husband’s career, returning to Virginia in 1986 and delving into the technology field to support her three young children. King tackled many large projects in her career as a technical lead, then moved on to the bigger challenges of monitoring and managing large server and network systems.


John Beatty, Catoctin District

Beatty was born in Portsmouth and grew up in the Metropolitan Washington area. He lives on a farm between Lovettsville and Waterford with his wife, Katie, and their five children. He graduated from Virginia Tech with a bachelor of science degree in computer science and minors in mathematics and business. Beatty has worked at several startups in Northern Virginia, focusing on iOS, Android and Ruby on Rails software development. He is currently the IT Director at a small private school where he also teaches Python and Java to high school students.


Jeff Morse, Dulles District

Morse is beginning his third term as the Dulles District representative on the school board. He served as the board’s chair for the past four years. He grew up in Vienna, graduated from Virginia Tech and was commissioned an ensign in the U.S. Navy, serving on active duty for 20 years, retiring as a commander in 2006. Morse is a lead associate for Booz Allen Hamilton, supporting the federal government in managing and procuring technology and services.


Beth Barts, Leesburg District

Barts was born into a family of educators and raised on a farm in the Shenandoah Valley. She attended Shepherd University where she received her degree in Library Science. Barts and her husband, Bobby, have been Leesburg residents for 23 years. They have a son who is a freshman at Virginia Tech and an elementary-aged daughter. As a former educator, PTA volunteer and Girl Scout troop leader, Barts has been an advocate for community engagement in education for almost two decades.