• blue ribbon
    Mr. Magruder receiving the award.
     No Child Left Behind - Blue Ribbon School
    On September 23, 2005, U.S. Secretary of Education
    Margaret Spellings announced that Leesburg Elementary
    School was one of 295 schools in the United States to be
    named a No Child Left Behind Blue Ribbon School for 2005.
        Elementary, middle, and high schools, both public and private, are eligible for the Blue Ribbon award. There were seven public schools in the commonwealth nominated by the Virginia Department of Education as 2005 Blue Ribbon Schools.
        According to Virginia Superintendent of Public
    Instruction Jo Lynne DeMary, "Blue Ribbon winners represent schools across the commonwealth that are providing effective instruction and opportunities for every child to learn and achieve."
        On Friday, October 11, 2005, Mr. Magruder, our principal and Ms. Dawn Bunting, fifth grade teacher, participated in the No Child Left Behind - Blue Ribbon Schools awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.  David Dunn, Chief of Staff, U.S. Department of Education presented Clarke Magruder and Dawn Bunting with a plaque and banner in recognition of the staff and students' accomplishment.