• The EL Program at Dominion High School serves approximately 17% of the total school population. Our staff includes nine teachers. Our students currently represent 18 languages and even greater number of dialects and cultures: Spanish, Arabic, Bengali, Urdu, Vietnamese, Mandarin, Farsi, Punjabi, Russian, Tagalog, Telugu, Twi, Hindi, Cambodian, German, Amharic, and French.  There is even greater diversity in language and culture throughout Loudoun County Public Schools:  Of the nearly 9,000 EL students enrolled in grades K-12, 95 languages other than English are represented. With this ever-growing population, we are constantly striving to better meet the needs of our English language learners. Course offerings this year include three levels of English for Speakers of Other Languages, EL Math, Science Concepts, Social Studies Concepts, and Literacy (Reading & Writing) in both English and Spanish. Documented research shows that students who are confident in their first language acquire additional languages more rapidly and with greater longevity of essential concepts.  While beginning students spend the majority of their day in these classes, intermediate and advanced students take courses to fulfill graduation requirements for standard and advanced diploma plans. All our curricula are designed to help students develop skills and content knowledge necessary for success in mainstream SOL-level classes; EL students are expected to take SOL tests when enrolled in an SOL course (such as Algebra, Geometry, World History, U.S. History, Earth Science, Biology, and English 11), This is the ninth year for Virginia's implementation of the World-Class Instructional Design & Assessment (WIDA) standards and goals and the ACCESS Test. 36 states have now joined the WIDA Consortium.  These standards hold EL students accountable for both English language and content vocabulary, similar to standards in place in general education classes.  For more information, please contact the EL staff or visit the links below. Informative Links World-Class Instructional Design & Assessment (WIDA)Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL)Virginia Standards of Learning (SOLs)

                                                                                                                                                                                
     

    Teacher

    Class

    Email Address 

    Alicia Banks
     Social Studies

    Alicia.Banks@lcps.org

    Karen Banks
     Literacy in English Karen.Banks@lcps.org 
     Lisa Weiss
    Literacy in English 

    Lisa.Weiss@lcps.org

     Daniela Gonzalez
     Science

    Daniela.Gonzalez@lcps.org  

    Patricia Sinclair

    (Department Chair) 

    English and Math

    Patricia.Sinclair@lcps.org

    Katherin Venture-Stupi

    English Language

    Katherin.Ventura@lcps.org

     

    Denise VanBuren

    Math

    Denise.VanBuren@lcps.org 

     

    Larissa Nunez-Morel Newcomer EL Social Studies Larissa.Nunez-Morel@lcps.org
    Yeojin Yang Literacy in English Yeojin.Yang@lcps.org
     
     
     
Last Modified on October 5, 2017