• Each year, HRTD seeks to honor and celebrate the dedication and achievements of LCPS employees.  We are proud to announce the expansion of our annual awards with new categories in an effort to recognize the contributions of all employees.  These awards are now grouped into two award divisions:  Operational and Instructional.  

    In the Instructional Awards group, recognition is given to the following:  Teacher of the Year, Principal of the Year, New Teacher of the Year, Substitute of the Year, Professional Employee of the Year, Administrative Support Employee of the Year, Instructional Support Employee of the Year, Student Services Support Employee of the Year.   A full list of job titles eligible in each category can be found here.

    In the Operational Awards group, recognition is given to the following:  Bus Attendant of the Year, Bus Driver of the Year, Custodial Employee of the Year, School Nutrition Services Employee of the Year, Information Technology Employee of the Year, Maintenance Employee of the Year, Safety Employee of the Year, Support Staff Employee of the Year.  A full list of job titles eligible in each category can be found here.  Nominations for the 2023-2024 school year are now closed.  Winners will be selected in early April.

    *Awards shown in red are new categories for the 2023-2024 school year.


    This year's position categories include:

    • Professional Employee of the Year
    • Instructional Support Employee of the Year
    • Student Services Support Employee of the Year
    • Administrative Support Employee of the Year
    • Substitute of the Year

    A complete list of eligible positions within each category can be found at: 2023-2024 LCPS Instructional Awards Eligibility

    Please note: Teacher of the Year and Principal of the Year nominations have CLOSED for the 2023-2024 year as they were held in conjunction with the nomination window for The Washington Post from October to December, 2023. Please do not submit a nomination for a teacher or principal at this time.


    Nominations can be submitted by students, staff, parents, and/or community members for an outstanding employee based on their exemplary performance.  Self-nominations will not be accepted. A selection committee composed of current LCPS staff and community member(s) will review nomination materials for each finalist.  Nominations are scored using a standardized rubric. Performance and past evaluations will be considered.  A completed nomination form must be submitted using the link below by 5:00 pm, Friday, March 22, 2024:  

    2023-2024 LCPS Instructional Awards nomination form

    Late or incomplete packets will not be considered past the deadline. Please email carrie.simms@lcps.org with any questions you may have.


    During the 2022-2023 school year, over 250 nominations were received for staff members in the following categories: Custodial, Bus Driver, Bus attendant, School Nutrition Services, Safety, Information Technology, and Maintenance.  

    Congratulations to our 2023 winners:  Bus Attendant- Sunny Yi, Bus driver- Bosede "Grace" Ajila, Custodial Services- Derek Summers, School Nutrition Services- Alexandra Adams, Information Technology- Randy White, Maintenance- Jeffrey Myers, Safety- Aaron Carter.

    In addition, HRTD supported the Outstanding Substitute of the Year program. These substitutes were honored for continuously demonstrating responsibility, reliability, and flexibility.  These winners have gone above and beyond to inspire students in our schools and to serve as positive role models.

    The 2023 Outstanding Substitutes of the Year were:  Kristen Procaccino, nominated by Lovettsville ES; Najma Aden, nominated by Steuart Weller ES; Elham Ali, nominated by Farmwell Station MS; and Janet Endres, nominated by Potomac Falls HS.


  • employee receiving award

  • bus driver with award in front of bus

  • custodian with large group of children

  • winner with supervisors

  • winner with school leades

  • winner with school principals

  • winner with safety team

Last Modified on Tuesday at 9:37 AM