Wall of Violins
  • Recommended Shops 

    While all of the companies listed below are competitive in pricing, consider using one of the local stores with an onsite luthier. Luthiers specialize in string instruments and are able to custom set bridges and do repairs on site. If you choose to rent or buy from a company not listed below, please be aware that you may need to spend additional money on repairs. I am happy to look at your instrument to make sure it is a quality string instrument; please email Ms. Wright with photos or a link!  

    LOCAL MUSIC STORES WITH ONSITE LUTHIER AND STRING SPECIALISTS 

    Day Violins http://www.dayviolins.com Chantilly, VA 

    Foxes Music http://www.foxesmusic.com Falls Church, VA

    Potters Violins http://www.pottersviolins.com Takoma Park, MD 

    Brobst Violins http://www.brobstviolins.com Alexandria, VA 

    Frisch Violins http://www.garyfrischviolins.com Falls Church, VA

    OTHER LOCAL MUSIC STORES (NO ONSITE LUTHIER, NOT STRING SPECIALIZED)

    The Music Loft www.themusicloftonline.com  Ashburn, VA

    Music and Arts www.musicandarts.com  Leesburg and Sterling, VA 

    A & A www.aamusiconline.com  Ashburn and Brambleton, VA 

    Melodee Music www.melodeemusic.com  Sterling, VA

    REPUTABLE ONLINE DEALER 

    Shar Music www.sharmusic.com

    Questions to Ask When Renting

    Do you have an on-site luthier to handle repairs?

    Do you offer loaners if a repair cannot be handled 'same day'? 

    Do you replace bows for free if it needs rehairing?

    Do you replace strings for free if they break? 

    Do you offer insurance or collect a deposit?

    What is your 'rent to own' policy?

    INSTRUMENTS TO REFRAIN FROM USING

    Cecilio, Mendini, Stag, and others like them are cheap, unusable instruments often found at Amazon or Walmart. They are of poor quality and do not meet minimum standards, often breaking easily as they are not well made. New strings and a bridge will cost you more than what you likely paid for the instrument. The pegs aren’t cut to exact standards, so the strings often slip out of tune, frustrating the student (and teacher). It’s best to pay a little more to get an instrument that is set up well, and in turn, the student will enjoy playing and get the most out of the experience. If you need anymore convincing, watch  this video


  • Equipment List

    Violin and Viola

    1. Instrument and bow
    2. Rosin (comes with rental)
    3. 1in 3 ring binder
    4. Shoulder Rest
    5. Luggage tag to label case

    Shoulder Rests: Kun, Everest, Shaped  Sponge



    Cello

    1. Instrument and bow
    2. Rosin (comes with rental)
    3. 1in 3 ring binder
    4. Rock Stop or Cello Anchor
    5. Luggage tag to label case

    Cello Anchor Rock Stop

    Bass 

    1. Instrument and bow
    2. Rosin (comes with rental)
    3. 1in 3 ring binder
    4. Rock Stop 
    5. Luggage tag to label case

    Rock Stop

     

    Music Book
    Students no longer are asked to purchase their own music book. The county will supply all books for students.