• Scholarship Banner

  • Liberty Elementary School will award a $1000 scholarship annually in memory of Rhonda Foley 

    Rhonda Foley graduated from Radford University by earning a Bachelor’s of Science in Health and Physical Education. Rhonda’s first position was teaching PE and Driver’s Education in the Pulaski County School District. Upon moving to California, she taught pre-K, kindergarten, first grade and second grade while continuing her studies at the College of Notre Dame in Belmont. In August of 2004, Rhonda earned her Master’s degree in ESOL and International Studies from Marymount University and opened Newton-Lee Elementary School one year later as its Kindergarten teacher. Liberty Elementary School was fortunate that Rhonda accepted an invitation to become a charter member of the school when its doors opened in 2008. From 2008 until her retirement in 2015, almost 300 five-year olds were introduced to Mrs. Foley as their very first teacher. Rhonda’s impact on students has been far-reaching and we thank her for giving our youngest students an incredible beginning to their school career.

    If you would like to make a donation, of any amount to the Rhonda Foley Scholarship Fund, you can easily do so online here.  Upon receipt, we are happy to email you the Liberty taxpayer identification (taxpayer ID) number as a nonprofit organization to get a tax deduction.
    Scholarship Criteria
    • Student must be an alumni of Liberty Elementary School in Loudoun County Public Schools
    • Student must be a current senior in high school
    • Student must be accepted or intending to pursue an undergraduate or technical degree in education or a STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) field
    • Student must submit an application to the Rhonda Foley Scholarship Board by April 30th of each year

    Past Scholarship Winners
    • Anusha Khan, Class of 2016
    • Maryam Azeem, Class of 2017
    • Lindsey Nystrom, Class of 2018
    • Claudia Valladares, Class of 2019
    • Susannah Mayer, Class of 2020
    • Leila Hendrix, Class of 2021
    • Naomi Minwalla, Class of 2022
    • Rashmi Admala, Class of 2023