•  
     
    Licensure Renewal
    All professionally licensed personnel holding a five-year renewable Virginia license must renew their license as required by the regulations of the Virginia State Board of Education. Review the Virginia Licensure Renewal Manual (Word Document) for further information.      
     
    Eliminated- Technology Standards for Instructional Personnel (TSIP)- Effective July 1, 2018, individuals seeking initial licensure or licensure renewal will no longer be required to meet these requirements.  Documentation of the educational technology requirements will not need to be submitted to the Division of Teacher Education and Licensure when an individual applies for an initial license or license renewal.

    2020 License Renewal Checklist

    Licensure Fee Schedule-
    Effective January 1, 2019. Pay online (Recommended) or by check, payable to County of Loudoun.


      

    At the time of renewal, please submit the following documents (as applicable) as a complete renewal packet to your assigned Licensure Specialist: 

     License Renewal Application and Fee

    • Application for License Renewal - Click here for the Renewal Application (Word Document) or see the Virginia Renewal Manual (Word Document) to print out an application.  The Date on Page 1 of your application needs to be the date you turn in your renewal paperwork.

    • A $50.00 Licensure Renewal Fee made payable to the County of Loudoun or pay on line at the following website https://webinter.lcps.org/PaymentPortal/Index.aspx.

    • There is no cap on fees for license actions per request. For example, if you are renewing your license ($50), changing your degree status to Master’s Degree ($25) and requesting an endorsement evaluation ($50), you will be assessed $125.00.

    Professional Development points (180)-  Individuals are required to earn 180 professional development points to renew their license.  Renewal points can be accrued by completion of activities through one or more of the following eight options: 

    1. College credit- Acceptable coursework offers content that provides new information and is offered by a regionally accreditied two-year or four- year college or university. College CreditCourses must be taken for credit, and the license holder must earn a passing grade or a "pass" in courses taken  on a "pass" or "fail" basis.)  Official transcripts must be submitted if using Option 1 – College Credit.
    2. Professional conference
    3. Curriculum development
    4. Publication of article
    5. Publication of book
    6. Mentorship/supervision
    7. Educational project
    8. Professional development activity

    • Record your points on page 3 of your Renewal Application.

    • Access MyLearningPlan to review your professional development activities.  You should print out and submit a copy of your professional development activities as part of the renewal packet if you use Option 8.  

    • For activities not in My Learning Plan, you can submit certificates with your renewal packet for Options 2-8 from above.

    • Teacher's Request for Relicensure Points-Use this form to submit a request for relicensure points.  Submit prior to your activity to your principal/supervisor for signature and submit to your assigned licensure specialist.

    Training requirements required to complete your licensure renewal.  These must be completed every time you renew your license.

     

    • Child Abuse Recognition and Intervention Training
      • Requirement
        • Effective July 1, 2017, every person seeking initial licensure or renewal of a license shall complete awareness training, provided by VDOE, on the indicators of dyslexia, as thaterm is defined by the board pursuant to regulations, and the evidence-based interventions and accommodations for dyslexia.
        • Training Module:
          • Child Abuse and Neglect: Recognizing, Reporting, and Responding for EducatorsThis link takes you out of the Virginia Department of Education website – This online course is provided by the Virginia Department of Social Services training division.
            • Individuals must select the “Required Training/Courses” tab under the heading “Child Protective Services.”  
            • Then select the “Child Abuse and Neglect: Recognizing, Reporting, & Responding (for educators) (Web page).”
             

    • Awareness Training on the Indicators of Dyslexia
      • Requirement: 
        • Board of Education regulations governing teacher licensure to require every person seeking initial licensure or renewal of a license to complete awareness training, provided by the Department of Education, on the indicators of dyslexia and the evidence-based interventions and accommodations for dyslexia.
        • Training Module: 
          • Dyslexia Awareness Training Module is available to meet the requirement of awareness training on the indicators of dyslexia and the evidence-based interventions.  This module is accessible from PCs and Mac computers. Viewing on an iPad or smartphone requires the download of the free “mobile player.” Users should complete the module in one session and have access to a printer.

    • Emergency First Aid, CPR & AED Certification or Training
      • Requirement:
        • Effective September 1, 2017 HB 1829 specified that the certification or training in emergency first aid (EFA), cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), and the use of automated external defibrillators (AED) that is required of every person seeking renewal of a license as a teacher shall include hands- on practice of the skills necessary to perform CPR.

        • Every person seeking initial licensure or renewal of a license shall provide evidence of completion of certification or training in emergency first aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and the use of automated external defibrillators. The certification or training program shall (i) be based on the current national evidence-based emergency cardiovascular care guidelines for cardiopulmonary resuscitation and the use of an automated external defibrillator, such as a program developed by the American Heart Association or the American Red Cross, and (ii) include hands-on practice of the skills necessary to perform cardiopulmonary resuscitation. 

      • The following 2 components, completed together and in order, will satisfy the requirements.  There is no guarantee of hands-on training sessions being held by LCPS.

        • Emergency First Aid, CPR, and AED module in Vision(Complete 1st)
          • Search CPR in Vision to find the LCPS CPR, AED, and First Aid Certification. 
          • No enrollment key should be required to enroll in the class. 
          • Successful completion of this module will satisfy part of this renewal requirement. 
          • You must also complete the hands-on training practice.
          • Print out the module certificate and take it to your hands-on-training session.

        • Hands-on training sessions (Complete 2nd)
          • Check My Learning Plan for available hands-ontraining sessions.  Search CPR.
          • Take the Vision module certificate to the training session.
          • Your instructor will sign it once you complete the training session. 
          • Once signed, submit the certificate with your renewal documents.

    • Required if you have an endorsement in School Counseling- Training in the Recognition of Mental Health Disorder and Behavioral Distress

     

    • Virginia State and Local Civic Education Training-  Required if you have the following endorsements:

      • Early-Middle Education K-8
      • Elementary Grades NK-8
      • Elementary Grades K-7
      • Elementary Grades K-8
      • Elementary Grades 1-7
      • Elementary Grades 4-7
      • Kindergarten Elementary Grades 1-7
      • Economics
      • Government
      • History
      • History and Social Sciences
      • Middle Education Grades 4-8
      • Middle Education Grades 5-8
      • Middle Education Grades 6-8
      • Middle Education Grades 6-7
      • Middle Education 6-8: History and Social Science

    • If you are licensed and endorsed to teach (i) middle school civics or economics or (ii) high school government or history, license renewal cannot be processed without completing the module or professional development course specifically related to Virginia history or state and local government that has a value of five professional developments.


    Please Note:  You are reminded that your teaching license is your teaching license.  You should maintain accurate records of each license renewal activity and keep copies of all information.  Should you leave the employment of Loudoun County Public Schools, the license renewal information you maintain is what you will take with you to your next destination.  You should make certain all information is accurate and signed by your renewal advisor (Principal, Assistant Principal, or Supervisor).

     
Last Modified on May 30, 2019