Phone: 571-252-2870


Degrees and Certifications:

Bachelor of Business Administration in Finance Master of Arts in Educational Curriculum and Instruction Master of Education in Leadership Certified in Elementary Education PreK-6 and Administration and Supervision PreK-12

Ms. Susan Mullen

Welcome Tolbert students, families and friends,

I am delighted to be serving as your principal for the 2023-2024 school year.  This is my eighth year as the principal of Tolbert and I have been part of the Tolbert community since the school opened in 2001.  Over that period, I have been a parent, a PTA board member, an instructional assistant, a third grade teacher, an administrative intern (dean), the assistant principal and now the principal. All three of my daughters attended Tolbert and I lived in the Potomac Station community for 16 years. As you can imagine, I am extremely committed to our students, school, community, mission and core beliefs:

Our Mission:

Empowering all students to be productive and respectful global thinkers, contributors and citizens

Our Core Beliefs:

  • An inclusive, safe, caring and challenging learning environment serves as the foundation for student growth
  • Strong partnerships with families and our community enhance our excellence
  • High quality, responsive, personalized instruction promotes student motivation and growth
  • A culture of continuous improvement drives the fulfillment of our mission

I am originally from Dana Point, California but came to the east coast to complete my Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration at the George Washington University.  As a former military spouse, I have lived all over the United States. After college I moved Pensacola, then San Diego where I earned a Master’s Degree in Education, with a focus on curriculum and instruction. After several additional moves,  my family settled in Leesburg.  While here, I earned a Master of Education Degree in Educational Leadership from George Mason University.

In my free time I enjoy spending time with my family, biking, traveling, reading, hiking, spending time outdoors, going to the movies and eating out ( particularly Mexican food). I also enjoy watching sports, especially the Capitals and Nationals! 

I am always happy to meet with parents and caregivers! 

Last Modified on February 26, 2024